top of page

Blog Research Proposal

Arianna Bauersfeld - aggiebau@tamu.edu

For my blog research, I have chosen to focus on Jewish religious memes and the way the Jewish community uses this form of digital communication in order to identify itself. I chose this specific religion because I realized that while Judaism is the oldest monotheistic religion in the world, few Americans seem to understand much of what the religion stands for.

Judaism is also incredibly fascinating because not only is it a religion, it's a cultural group. Because of this, I decided that Jewish identity would be even more interesting to study in relation to digital media, especially in meme culture. Does the fact that the religion doubles as a cultural identity change the way Jews interact with meme culture? I hope to learn a little more about how Jews identify themselves in relation to popular culture, and how they use memes to communicate this identification to other Jews and the rest of the world.

Here are two examples of some Jewish religious memes I found, both taken from the facebook page @JewishMemes. This page can be found at https://www.facebook.com/JewishMemes/?ref=br_rs.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page